Wonderful Quotes about Writing

In trawling the web for an apt quotation about writing to include on my header, I found these others, which really sum it all up …. the masochism …. the thanklessness of the task ….the apparent futility … the pain … why oh why do we do it????

Writing is like prostitution.  First you do it for love, then for a few close friends, and then for money.  Moliere.  (this one I love … I think I’m in the middle stage … but have a definite hankering to flog my wares to the highest bidder … literary of course)

A writer is somebody for whom writing is more difficult than it is for other people.  Thomas Mann. (how can a sane person spend three hours perfecting one sentence and then next day scrub it altogether?)

Writing is easy:  All you do is sit staring at a blank sheet of paper until drops of blood form on your forehead.  Gene Fowler  (I’ve been wondering about those weird red spots in front of my eyes)

I am a drinker with writing problems.  Brendan Behan (you said it boy!)

I’m writing a book.  I’ve got the page numbers done.  Steven Wright (actually I’m still working on the page numbers)

There are three rules for writing a novel.  Unfortunately, no one knows what they are.  W. Somerset Maugham (perhaps the first one is “don’t do it”)

 The road to hell is paved with works in progress.  Philip Roth (he must have been looking at my computer)

 I love deadlines.  I like the whooshing sound they make as they fly by.  Douglas Adams (occasionally they fly back home for the winter)

 I love being a writer.  What I can’t stand is the paperwork.  Peter de Vries (yes, and and all that thinking)

 Writing is not necessarily something to be ashamed of, but do it in private and wash your hands afterwards.  Robert A. Heinlein (rather like blogging)

About annegreen2013

I'm a freelance writer passionate about all things culinary and literary, especially South Australian food and wine, food writing, ethical eating, animal welfare, healthy eating, nutrition and food sustainability
This entry was posted in Writer's_life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

